top of page

Immigrants facing two major challenges are helped by the Biden administration

Photo Credit: Gage Skidmore

A reinterpretation of federal immigration law has resulted in two major changes to immigration policies under the Biden administration.

Fifteen countries are currently designated, including Afghanistan, El Salvador, Somalia, Ukraine, and Venezuela. Hundreds of thousands, possibly millions, of immigrants from those countries are protected.

Up until July, those protected by TPS had to remain in the country unless they received approval to travel.

If the secretary of homeland security determines that their home country meets certain conditions, immigrants, some illegal, are exempt from deportation and may work legally.

USCIS said in its alert that the change stemmed from a court decision, guidance from the lawyers at its parent agency, the Department of Homeland Security, and an evaluation of current and past policy. The agency did not respond to requests for comment.

16 July 2022


Top Stories

bottom of page